It went like this (I am that is)

….the buildings toppled in on themselves.
Mothers clutching babies, picked through the rubble, and pulled out their hair.
The skyline was beautiful on fire – all twisted metal, stretching upwards; everything washed in a thin orange haze.
I said, “Kiss me, you’re beautiful – these are truly the last days.”

You grabbed my hand, and we fell into it, like a daydream, or a fever. – Godspeed You! Black Emperor, “Dead Flag Blues”

I am:

Every lover’s hate
Every plate that smashed against a wall
Every cheater’s lie
Every liar’s wordless mouth, and twitching foot
The pocketful of things that should not have been

I am

A twisting wire-smile
A wreath of thorns, black with blood
A horizon full of nimbus, the sun’s love
And it’s dying grace, the final word
On a day long forgotten by now

I am

Every moment passing
And passing still, into a future
That never was, that might have been
Had the mind ruled the body with a will
Not a way, towards red turning black

I am

The bundle of rue, laid on the grave
Of every poor sod who never tried
Who never went to that horizon
To strike down the sun, with his blood
Pushed against that nimbus, to find
A world of tomorrows, a lifetime alone

I am

What could yet still be
A longer shadow on the ground
A freefall freeform, wandering away
Leaving you all behind
Leaving this name to rot
In a place where it meant something, once.

I am

The voice of every scream
Sent into the abyss, unheard
Every fist on the table
Every plate smashed
Every foot stamped
From a petulant woman-child
Who has only herself to blame.

I am that is.
Your sullen friend
Your shadowy goal
Your world of tomorrows
Here, and gone.

bullet in the sky

Leave a Reply

