Children’s Story: “Open your Eyes (Little Black Kitten)”

“Open your eyes, Little Black Kitten,” said Mummy Cat. “It is morning.”

Little Black Kitten put his paws over his green eyes. He hid his pink nose under his long fluffy tail.
“I do not want to open my eyes. The sun is big and yellow in the window,” said Little Black Kitten. “I am scared of the sun.”

“But the sun stays up in the sky, Little Black Kitten,” said Mummy Cat. “He is big and bright and yellow. His light will warm up the world.
He makes the green grass grow in the garden, for you to sit on.
He makes the red flowers bloom in the garden, for you to smell.

But you must not look directly at the sun, Little Black Kitten,” said Mummy Cat. “He is bright and will hurt your eyes.”

“I like to feel the green grass. I like to look at the red flowers,” said Little Black Kitten. “I would like to sit in the garden.”

“Then you must open your eyes, Little Black Kitten,” said Mummy Cat.

So Little Black Kitten put down his paws. He opened his green eyes.
“I can see the big yellow sun smiling in the window,” said Little Black Kitten. “The sky is blue around him.”
He lifted his pink nose and took a long sniff.
“I can smell the red flowers,” said Little Black Kitten.

“Come out into the morning garden,” said Mummy Cat. “I will be with you.”

They went outside into the morning garden. The big yellow sun was smiling down at them. The red flowers smelled wonderful. The green grass felt soft and warm under his paws.

Little Black Kitten smiled up at the big yellow sun.
“I am glad I opened my eyes,” he said to Mummy Cat.

Night-time came. The big yellow sun closed his eyes and went to bed. The red flowers tucked in their petals. The blue sky turned black as fluffy kitten fur.

“Open your eyes, Little Black Kitten,” said Daddy Cat. “It is night, and time to wake up.”

Little Black Kitten put his paws over his green eyes. He hid his pink nose under his long fluffy tail.
“I do not want to open my eyes. The moon is big and white in the sky,” said Little Black Kitten. “I am scared of the moon.”

“But the moon stays up in the sky, Little Black Kitten,” said Daddy Cat. “Her white light shines in the dark. She will make your green eyes glow, so that you can see. All of your friends who have been asleep in the day, will come out to play.

But you must never go outside into the garden on your own, Little Black Kitten,” said Daddy Cat. “You might become lost.”

“I like to sit in the garden,” said Little Black Kitten. “I would like to play with my night friends.”

“Then you must open your eyes, Little Black Kitten,” said Daddy Cat.

So Little Black Kitten put down his paws. He opened his green eyes.
“I can see the big white moon smiling in the window,” said Little Black Kitten. “The sky is black around her.”
He turned his ears this way and that.
“I can hear the night animals playing,” said Little Black Kitten.

“Come outside into the night garden,” said Daddy Cat. “I will be with you.”

They went outside into the night garden. The big white moon was smiling down from the black sky. All of the animals that had been asleep in the day, were playing on the grass. It did not look green. The moon made the grass look white.

Little Black Kitten looked at his Mummy Cat and his Daddy Cat. Their eyes were shining green as the grass in the day.

“The moonlight helps us to see in the dark. She makes our eyes glow,” said Mummy Cat.

Little Black Kitten saw his friends waving to him. They called for him to come and play. He smiled up at the moon.
“I am glad I opened my eyes,” he said to Daddy Cat.

Leave a Reply

