Lampenlicht

Another twilight, another moss-covered wall; another lampenlicht walk, under a sky threatening to split with the weight of its thoughts. Conflict, my dear friends … it is the word of today, tomorrow, forever. It doesn’t seem to end, so much as stir from one ripple to another. To another, to another.

We have slipped beneath its dark surface again, tinged by the reddening sky; and in all my fanciful dreams, all those silent-screaming thoughts of the night (only a handful of months ago, and somehow another time, another place already), I could not conceive of it all. Such sights. Things I, and other unfortunates, will never be able to erase from under the eyelids. Such white-out times of pain and loss, for those hounded across ancient diamond teeth.
And the long fingers of evil stretch further, and further across the walls of the land, slipping between the cracks of history, to rear up

– sudden and swift

against your own tomorrows –

Into today.

I dislike using the word “evil.” It is too easy, too sweeping; it does not allow for coherent debate, for the flip of a double-sided coin. No positive argument to make, though, for a head on a pike. For a child, spilt like a misspent word into the sand, into a timeline. Into the world, passing from one to the next, until the life is an image of itself.

No, I won’t forget you. I won’t, and never want to; because for all that your identity was stolen away in blood, your innocence, the new light in your eyes … You were a life, and you were someone’s beloved.
No, I won’t forget you. I wish we had met under any other circumstance but the baseless, senseless defilement of that symbolism, for all that the perpetrators had to go upon. Religion is not theirs to keep; the flame goes out in hands too cold to know life, reason, and love.

Oh my friends – we hold each other in these white-out times; we keep our minds cradled in the lap of knowing the other’s despair;
And oh my foes –
I know your shadow-name, and I know you for what you are.

beetle black

I fear for this world, and am trying to find myself ready for it. Insofar as anyone can be ready, setting their face to the sky, to the watchful sun; to the circling pen-mark of rooks on the wind; the haggard trees, the lampenlicht nightwalk, and my old comrade-in-arms; the Lady Cathedral.

cathedral girl

lampenlicht

Tonight, I listened to the piping sweet-bell language of the bats, and knew the changing of the watch. The leaves are burning up on the buildings, scarlet as the mornings and ragged to their tips, like the wings of the rook, like the frayed ends of my hair.
It is almost blonde again; that brown-gold colour of youth. Combined with a near-normal body, I am slowly coming back around to what once was, while keeping these gentle lines about the eyes, these freckles on my nose; this somewhat yellowed laugh, like a papyrus scroll unrolled, filled with spider-black lines.

Uncover our heads and reveal our souls; we were hungry before we were born.

The past catches us up in the end. Run as hard as you might, and you run only from yourself.

I am quitting this blog tonight. It is too full of last year, which was painful, and still aches to the touch. There are places in town, across counties, which I still cannot enter, for the ghosts that run past me, trailing thoughts and feelings in their wake. Each time I think myself known in this new life, I am somehow only my own shadow, crawling up the wall.

You, Nosferatu; you long fingers, you smiling-abuser, you – with your burning touch, who would not let me go. Who still find my dreams, and riven them all around with brambles, choke me in mud of the past, until I am fighting awake and screaming for air –

And it will not end, until I turn and stop running. Stop running, and turn, turn about again, and find the light in all places, the one which will never go out. It has been here before, has come again; a different intensity each time. It is life, and love, and knowing that these claws sink only so far; that the nightmares will die in the day, with the dreams.

One coin, two sides.

I am wondering at the validity of this therapy. For all that I used to come awake and know myself frayed, frail, parched in the throat, dying a little more inside, but still alive – now, I find it difficult to feel anything at all.
To connect one thought to another, to find the patterns that were constellations. Or perhaps this is end-game after all, and I am walking ahead.
I see nothing but darker days, as yet. Anyone could tell you that, I suppose. You only have to look at the pitfalls awaiting the Eurozone; at the blue winds rising over Russia and Ukraine; at the red-rimmed eyes of the sun, the morning that fades a little more with each breaking heart.

I had thought myself paled into Forever, and had all but decided to disappear, back up into the tower of clicking needles and spinning thread. Those red-black stones called; the brambles lashed against the sky, filled with an everlasting storm made of torn angel wings, and a man’s blood on a knife clenched in her hand. That was a story and a song of long ago, when I was … about thirteen, I think. I had forgotten it, until now.

“You should never run from anything immortal, it attracts their attention.”
or indeed –
“Great heroes need great sorrows and burdens, or half their greatness goes unnoticed. It is all part of the fairy tale.”

Shorn wings, and the silver-fire cage of an Ever-Storm; that angel learned what it is to love a mortal, to feel the chillness of steel on bone, marking her as one like him after all; while forgiveness and punishment found her still, huddled into the rain-fretted mud, as one of His own. No love goes unacknowledged, no tear is forgotten. Silver and white, and blue and black; red as the life on the long thistle-song.
Jealousy reaps its own rewards.

barnes elias

But then came this, the lark’s rising song in the voice of Vicky Beeching; and I found myself able to cry, and to know colours again, and – while still alone, without touch
(which comes closer to a feather-trail of memory, every day)
I was awake and aware, and feeling what should be. Rubbing my cheek, and drinking a black-hearted coffee, and going on with a smile.
Such bravery in the writing, you would find in the heart of a unicorn, for all its ageless pain and wisdom; the ability to touch so many, to lift them from the dark place where we may go, from time to time.

Oh Robin. If only I had such words as these, by the inimitable John Underwood, to set the last bar. You were a dear childhood friend, known on a soundtrack to my RAF youth; found in a film for the rough-ready teens; and a summer sun of adulthood, which will never die.

apola sun

Keep the streets empty for me, Liebe.
Now I know your face, and I know your name
(the one you will learn; we are roles reversed, through the clock)
May it be a light for you in dark places, when all other lights go out.
My King of Swords. Cut which-and-every-way, the song remains the same.
Dreaming of Mercy Street.

8 thoughts on “Lampenlicht

  1. drewchial says:

    Does this mean you’ll be consolidating this blog with your other one or do you need a vacation from personal entires for a little while? Take a leave of absence if you need to. I know you don’t need my permission.

    Much of this entry reads like a poem , capturing a raw emotion, showing the symptoms, dipping into a few of the causes. It’s hard to get a fix on which is biggest. The world’s feeling really overwhelming these days.

    I’ll try to astral project as much positive energy as I can spare.

    • raishimi33 says:

      “Overwhelming” is the right word. As I told a friend this morning, the only way I can make sense of this world, is to waffle with whimsy. All the imagery, is my way of piecing things together in a way that’s interesting to me. If it happens to be interesting to others too, so much the better 😉

      I’ve got a new entry for the new blog, hopefully going up tomorrow night. Will post the link, and set the blog on my Twitter account.

      Cheers for that energy, Drewfus. God knows, we all need a few stars right now x

      • drewchial says:

        Exactly. I’m trying to compartmentalize how much news I can take. It’s had me avoiding social media (or using it slightly less).

        Can’t wait to read the new blog. I’m happy to know you’re still at it

  2. Amira K. says:

    You’ve got such fire in your words, my dear, that I can only ever envy you. Oh, but how I love you, too. This blog has grown dear to me, but that pales in comparison to how dear you’ve grown, too.

    ” Each time I think myself known in this new life, I am somehow only my own shadow, crawling up the wall.”

    Yes, we’re all shadows of ourselves, projections while the real thing hides in the back insisting the world remain in the projection room, “Don’t look behind that curtain!” But with you, there’s something more poignant, a revealing that happens, at “the changing of the watch” when glimmers of Rachael emerge. You needn’t worry about being a shadow of yourself, my love. There’s nothing about you that doesn’t shine.

    • raishimi33 says:

      … You are good to me, Amira, liebling-one. I’ll drop you more lines when quite awake; not enough sleep, but but then, who says we’re not still dreaming?

      One hand back through the clock, to squeeze yours. We walk between worlds.

      x

  3. I think this is a really heartfelt and beautiful post…

  4. Like Drew, this entry of yours felt poetic to me, even more than usual. Beauty and sadness coexist so comfortably in your words. I will miss this blog, but I understand your need to do something else. And you know that I’ll follow you wherever you leave your indelible imprint. The world feels heavy to us all at the moment. Don’t let the darkness cut too deep for too long. There will be brighter days, but you are right, there will always be conflict. Such is humanity, though I wish otherwise xx

Leave a Reply

